Reviews

9.1
Review Score

Score Breakdown

Cleanliness
9.5
Comfort
8.9
Property Location
9.5
Facilities
8.5
Staff
9.3
Value
9.0

Reviews

    Lucy
    us

    Review Score

    10
    May 27, 2018
    The view was great from our window. The inn was very quiet and it felt like I was staying at home. The owners were very nice. We will definitely be staying here again.
    Matthew
    us

    Review Score

    10
    May 27, 2018

    Our stay at this charming, historical Inn was all we could ask for.

    We wish we had more time to stay!!!
    The owners are very friendly and the Inn is quite charming. Will definitely stay there again. Rooms are beautiful and very clean.
    Charles
    us

    Review Score

    10
    May 22, 2018
    Water for shower took awhile to heat up!
    Quiet, quaint and a respite from chain operations. Location is perfect for walking/shopping/ ferry to Mackinac Island! Staff was friendly and knowledgeable. I would stay there again when in the area!
    us

    Review Score

    10
    November 4, 2017
    Convenient
    Lenore
    us

    Review Score

    8.8
    November 4, 2017
    There are no comments available for this review.
    Angela
    us

    Review Score

    7.5
    November 1, 2017

    Good location to ferry for Mackinac Island. Climbing up 3 flights of stairs was ok for the 3 nights

    Bathroom was small, no exhaust fan and window did not open.
    Jeff
    us

    Review Score

    10
    October 31, 2017
    Breakfast
    The breakfast left a lot to be desired, but overall, the place was better than most in either town around Maciniac and just an 8 minute walk to the ferry
    Megan
    us

    Review Score

    9.6
    October 27, 2017
    There are no comments available for this review.
    Sarah
    us

    Review Score

    8.8
    October 22, 2017
    There are no comments available for this review.
    Donald
    us

    Review Score

    10
    October 17, 2017
    There are no comments available for this review.
    reviews1612
    us

    Review Score

    9.2
    October 16, 2017

    I loved the location and the fact it was old and they've got all kinds of theme rooms.

    Breakfast needs to include more items. Fresh fruit maybe? And there's no elevator so you have to drag suitcase upstairs.
    Loved the location and the fact it was an old Inn. Looking out my window and seeing the bay.
    Mari Moody
    us

    Review Score

    10
    October 16, 2017

    Wonderful owners, reasonably priced, clean and comfortable. We will stay here again in the future.

    There is no elevator, so if you have trouble with stairs, it will be a challenge.
    Beautiful , clean and rich in history. The owner Jim was very nice and helpful, even making sure we had towels to wipe down the bike after it rained, for our trip home. Coffee was on at 6:30 am and breakfast was good. There are games, cards and a small library of books for down times. Step back in time with the old hotel registers, and the old operator switchboard displayed in the lobby. The floors creak , the stairwell is grand, and the vintage Pepsi vending machine all add to its charm. There is even a checkerboard set up in the front lobby, with a view of the boardwalk and Lake Huron. Our room was cozy, the bed comfortable, very clean with fresh linens and we'll stocked with towels. The view from our 3rd floor room was awesome, with St Anthony's rock to the right and the Lake to the left. Close to quaint little shops offering all kinds of wares, a museum, and dining establishments.
    Lisa
    us

    Review Score

    7.5
    October 15, 2017
    Nice place with a vintage flavor. They do not have an elevator which would make it an issue for someone with a lot of luggage or mobility issues but for someone traveling light a very nice & comfortable place to stay.
    David
    us

    Review Score

    7.9
    October 15, 2017
    There are no comments available for this review.
    Timothy
    us

    Review Score

    10
    October 9, 2017
    There are no comments available for this review.
    Paul
    us

    Review Score

    10
    October 9, 2017
    There are no comments available for this review.
    Elise
    us

    Review Score

    8.3
    October 9, 2017
    There are no comments available for this review.
    us

    Review Score

    9.2
    October 8, 2017

    We would stay again, and recommend it to our friends. Quaint. Friendly.

    The windows on our 1st floor room were directly in front of cars parked along the side of the building. One set of windows had a privacy curtain; but the other set only had a sheer.........too revealing. Also, the breakfast was juice, coffee, CARBS. We at least were looking for a banana. We ate at a nearby restaurant Bentley's which is only a short walk away.
    The historic hotel was very nice. Our room was bright, clean, very comfy.
    Erika
    us

    Review Score

    9.2
    October 8, 2017

    Great location, excellent historic property, yucky breakfast.

    Breakfast was ho-hum, prepackaged and carb heavy. Fresh fruit, yogurt or eggs would have made a very nice stay - FABULOUS!
    Location was perfect. Love staying in historic hotels. The hosts were very kind and helpful. Very comfy beds and appreciated the double rooms with separate bathrooms. Able to walk to dinner and the ferry.
    Nomad
    us

    Review Score

    4.2
    October 7, 2017

    Avoid this place unless you have no other options.

    The hotel is an old victorian building with no elevator. The room I booked online was on the third floor. There were maybe three other people staying there judging by the cars in the lot - I didn't see any other guests. Given that the hotel was nearly empty, it would have been nice for the manager to upgrade us to either a room on a lower floor, or a larger room on the third floor. Every other room was empty, with the door open, so it was easy to see the other spaces. We had the smallest room in the place. It was barely large enough for the bed and a bedside table. The bathroom was so tiny you could barely close the door. The windows were single pane and let all the street noise in, and the in-window air conditioner was so loud it couldn't be left running, so there was no way to avoid street noise. The room was clean, but the decor was very dated. The door had only the key lock with no deadbolt. There was no refrigerator or microwave or phone. The breakfast was pitiful. Four bagels, plain and cinnamon, english muffins, Raisin Bran and Cheerios, milk and juice and coffee. That's it. Breakfast wasn't set out until 8, and I didn't see any other guests. The breakfast room has a sign saying make yourself at home, enjoy the board games and card games, except that there are none. We noticed a "for sale" sign on the front door, so maybe the owners/managers don't have any incentive to encourage repeat business. It would not have cost them anything to put us in a slightly bigger or more conveniently located room. Did they have to do that? Of course not. But is speaks volumes to the customer service attitude that under the circumstances - a nearly empty building - they did not offer. I would not recommend this hotel to anybody.
    The hotel is in an excellent location, very near the ferry docks.
Loading reviews...